What happened to the playerbase?

EbeneezerScrooge

So I've seen plenty of people discussing this and things related to it.
I'm an old player, starting in 2010, playing on and off since.
haven't been on in 2 years and came back to find the server with 30 players on, rather than the 300 there used to be.
What happened, that made players leave?
Is it the success of other pokemon MMOs, or the general shift away from pokemon as nintendo run out of ideas?
I have some programming experience (although not much in LUA) and would be interested in joining the team and saving this game.
I look forward to your responses.

Jinji

PWO's Resident Gengar
Staff member
Administrator
Website
jinji.gamescodex.net
PWO was the victim of concentrated efforts to slander the game and its Staffing; and even a direct attempt to force it to be shut down. The emergence of competing MMOs also did not help matters. Luckily, this is all in the past now; but we as PWO Staff remain vigilant of people trying to cause trouble again.

We are also acutely aware that people are choosing not to play right now as they feel they have used up the available content of the game; and eagerly await new offerings such as new regions, Pokémon or story elements. These are all being worked on, with staff currently focused on major content updates; but it will be some time before they are completed.